That’s so annoying; when people ask “Penny for your thoughts?” Piss right off! My thoughts are PRICELESS, there’s no way I’m giving anything away so cheaply. Cheeky bastards. But something occurred to me yesterday at work, and then on my journey home in the car: the extent to which we mutter on to ourselves during the course of the day is pretty mind-boggling at times.
People yabber on to themselves to varying degrees, from giving a full running commentary of their task lists, to just the odd outburst of despair (or joy, or completely freaky madness). One of my colleagues is an absolute darling and she’s non-stop, talking to herself about the things she’s done and is yet to complete on her “to do list” for that day. Another colleague can’t read without reading out loud. Another just goes on and on and, I’m sure she’s intending that people are listening to her, but she’s so tiresome that nobody does and she essentially talks to herself all day.
What’d be really interesting is an experiment whereby a person wears a microphone and everything they say is recorded over a 24hr period. Snippets from my typical working day might include:
“Eeuurghh, hello there Otto! Move, got to get up now. Come on, love, I need to get up. MOVE! For fuck’s sake!” (Thud! as Otto is shoved onto the floor).
“Move out the way you lot, come on. Going out Max? Go on then. Oh come on then, Otto, off you go. Sonny, I’m not standing with the fucking door open all morning while you decide whether it’s safe for you outside today. Oh fuck off then!”
“Fuck off, shitting radio shite”
“Fucking come ON! How long does it fucking take to set off from some fucking traffic lights, you total fucking MONG! Jesus, fucking Christ almighty! Just move!”
“‘Morning”
“Ugh”
“Oh fuck off, you twat. Go off and whinge to the boss again. Cunt”
“Oh bollocks!… smile … ‘Good morning, Thingy and Whatsit Department, how can I help? …. It’s a pleasure, cheerio’….”
“Right, I’m off”
“Oh come on, you tosser. Why do you need to leave such a huge gap? Look, mo.. DON’T LET THAT FUCKER IN! Fuck’s sake, been queuing for ages and that twat.. JEEEEZUSS!”
“Bastards”
“Vrrrooooooooooooooommm.. SCREEEEEEEEEAAACH!!!”
“Oh tits, can’t they park a bit better? Spastics”
“Oops!”
“Hiya MAX! Max, Max, Max, Max, Max!!!”
At the hospital
I’ve got a follow up hospital appointment this afternoon. Having been given plenty of time to consider my options, I’m going ask that a benign breast lump is removed. There’s no clinical need to, but having seen the thing on the mammogram, it scared the shit out of me and I want it OUT!
It’s obviously an extremely rare occurrence, but people who get intimate with me can get a bit freaked when they encounter it. I’ve been instructed to tell the surgeon that I want it out “Because it’s interfering with my sex life”. I think in truth, it’s my huge arse, bingo wings and udder that are the main problem when it comes to be me having a healthy sex life, I just hope this isn’t pointed out to me at the hospital.
This sort of thing makes me really nervous. I hate having to talk about myself to people; my nerves get the better of me and I end up laughing and joking about things that are really rather serious.
Need a poo now.













